Simplicity

Simplicity…a word that awakens a variety of feelings.  Maybe for you it brings feelings of peace as you envision it consistently in your life.  Or maybe it brings overwhelming feelings as you wonder how and where to begin incorporating it into your life.   Remember…it is a journey…

As with many things in life, simplicity looks different to each of us.  And it can look different at various points in our lives.  Growing up, my life was simple in many ways.  Yet as a child living on a farm in what seemed like the middle of nowhere, I did not view it as such.  I did not have the gift of the past to appreciate the present. 

Today, we have the power to choose to move forward on our journey towards simplicity.  Taking a bit of time to look back and reflect on where we’ve encountered simplicity in the past, might just make it a little easier to move forward.

Looking back and intentionally thinking forward, today I see simplicity as:

Being in nature
Creating art with family
Quiet moments of solitude
Sunshine-filled days by the ocean
Snow crunching under my feet as I walk in the park
Living what I love
Genuine laughter
Cool, rainy days watching surfers dance with the waves
Just enough toys to inspire my children, but not too many to overwhelm them
Noise-filled gatherings being present with those I love
White space in my home
Free time in my life
Gratitude in the moment

I encourage you to reflect on when you’ve had simplicity in your life.  What did it look like?  How did it feel?  How can you choose today to move forward with it in your life?  I’d love to hear what simplicity looks like for you!

Blessings,

Lisa

34 thoughts on “Simplicity

  1. I absoultely love your message and felt myself relaxing as I read it. We all need to try and find time to reflect on and appreciate our journey. Thank-you for sharing .

  2. As I read this post I felt myself living many of the simple moments you spoke of. To me simplicity is holding a warm cup of coffee in my hands. Simplicity is all the items in my home put in their proper place. Simplicity is chasing my toddler around the house as she squeals with delight.

  3. Simplicity to me is just enjoying my family and life. We are working on my husband’s family farm after over 20 years of neglect. Things can get a little hectic, but I am keeping in the back of my mind that we are doing this as a family. These days are precious and I want to live each and every one.

  4. I love this post. I love a simple life – bread baking in the oven, clothes drying on the line, children laughing as they play, the piano being banged on, a scrapbook coming together…

  5. Simplicity to me is…sharing a good healthy home cooked meal with loved ones! ‘Breaking bread together’ sitting ’round the table enjoying each others company!
    I love any time spent with my family!

  6. Simplicity is having enough time to appreciate everything and eliminate what does not add value. I feel so alive when I have quiet time to rejuvenate. I love sleeping without a care for tomorrow, just knowing it will all be alright.

  7. “I did not have the gift of the past to appreciate the present” and “living what I love”: Love these!! In two months my family will move into our RV for an experiment in Simplicity and Less. I feel my spirit calm anytime I’m enjoying God’s creation. Great post!

  8. Simplicity in my life is when I don’t have a lot of responsibilities pulling me every which-way. When I can just relax for more than a moment with nothing to do….it’s rare, but it happens every once in a while.

  9. What an insightful post! I agree that simple living is so satisfying and rewarding. Your list of simple things are some of the same ones that I enjoy and seek to fill my life with. Thanks for sharing!

  10. I think reflecting is the only way you can move forward to a better you.Your list of simple things are some of mine, especially living what I love, genuine laughter, and moments of quiet solitude.

  11. Simplify. It’s one my most favorite words. I simplify by getting rid of what we don’t need and not buying it if we we won’t use it. This is a great post! Things haven’t felt very simple lately…it’s time for that to change. Thank you for remind me.

  12. Ahhh, simplicity. I so need more of this in my life. A carefree weekend and the park with kids, or a walk with my hubby with no real plans, or must-dos. That’s my ideal simplicity day.

  13. I am not sure I love a simple life… I am currently living a simple life for the next few months and I miss the complications of juggling 3 jobs and all the travel and preparations that involved. I miss the abundance of art materials right on my desk. And I miss my kitties. We are in Hawaii until May and couldn’t bring our kitties.

    Life is pretty simple here (at least for me! Hubby is working his patoot off on a research project). It IS definitely about savoring moments — seeing that green gecko while hanging laundry, the whiff of Chinese jasmine on the wind, the flavors of really good food (but not bread b/c we don’t have an oven in our apartment). In the absence of busyness, I find myself noticing the world around me more. And while I still miss the things from home, I am perhaps enjoying things more fully now, and I hope to bring this sense of wonder back home when we return.

  14. Simplicity is living according to my needs, not my wants. Its living according to what I need, not what society says I need. Simplicity brings peace, contentment and the knowledge that I’m not overcluttering the planet. Thanks for sharing, this is great ~ Bobbi

  15. To me, simplicity is lazy Sundays watching a marathon of movies with my sweetie, drawing with my nephew, debating with my Dad, and bargain-shopping at the thrift store with my Mom. It doesn’t take much to make me happy (or laugh), which I believe helps keep stress out of my personal life.

  16. I love your thought process! We don’t always have the past to appreciate the present situation. I didn’t realize how simple and wonderful a newborn baby could be, I just wanted him to sit up and eat solids and crawl. Now I’m wishing I enjoying those simple times more.

    I do need to declutter, and to let go of controlling everything a bit.

Leave a Reply

